Schedules - Syllabus for ES

Malc Prentice

General Description

English for Science I and II will help students develop reading, academic writing, listening, speaking and vocabulary skills using topics related to their majors. Students will also learn basic research skills. For Second-year International Technology Cooperation Education Program (ITCEP) students

Goals and Objectives

This course follows the Curriculum for General Academic Skills, with the addition of

Required Materials

Evaluation/Assessment

Required items

Item % Minimum OK points for extra? Instructions
Projects and Presentations 50% A,B,Cslides,Cdelivery,Dessay=10% No see weekly schedule
Vocabulary Project (V) 10% 280 minimum, but 10% = testNo see learn vocabulary
Participation 20% (NG/OK points - absences) Participation is OK points see below
see do well in class
Logs (Reading/Listening activities) 10% 5 5 extra = 5 OK points see log input
Quickwrite Activities (QW) 10% 28 15 extra = 5 OK points see do a quickwrite
Speed Reading (SR) OK only 20 20 extra = 5 OK points see do a speed reading
Self Access (EF) OK only 5 5 extra = 5 OK points see use the Self Access Centre

Optional items (points for trying new things)

Self Access (Writing Centre) OK points only 1 point for first visit max 1 OK point per term see use the Self Access Centre
ALC Net Academy OK points only 1 point for first test max 1 OK point per term see use ALC NetAcademy
Try Speaking Test Prep Centre OK points only 1 point for first visit max 1 OK point per term see use the Self Access Centre
Try Global Village OK points only 1 point for first visit max 1 OK point per term see use the Self Access Centre
Try ECR OK points only 1 point for first visit max 1 OK point per term see use the Self Access Centre
Attend the GLS lecture OK points only 1 point for attending max 1 OK point per term I will explain in class
Bug Bounty (spot a mistake) OK points only 1 point per serious problem max 1 OK point per class I will explain in class
Take a TOEIC,TOEFL test OK points only 1 point per term max 1 OK point per term See Resources for tips
Only December is free.

Weekly Schedule

Class 1 - Skills Class 1 (09 Apr: Mon)

What we will do in class:

The basics:

Class 2 - Skills Class 2 (11 Apr: Wed)

What to prepare for this class:

If you have not already:

What we will do in class:

Review of possible independent study tasks:

Class 3 (16 Apr: Mon)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 4 (18 Apr: Wed)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 5 (23 Apr: Mon)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 6 (25 Apr: Wed)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 7 (30 Apr: Mon)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 8 (02 May: Wed)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 9 (07 May: Mon)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 10 (09 May: Wed)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 11 (14 May: Mon)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 12 (16 May: Wed)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 13 (21 May: Mon)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 14 (23 May: Wed)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 15 (28 May: Mon)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 16 (30 May: Wed)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 17 (04 Jun: Mon)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 18 (06 Jun: Wed)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 19 (11 Jun: Mon)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 20 (13 Jun: Wed)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 21 (18 Jun: Mon)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 22 (20 Jun: Wed)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 23 (25 Jun: Mon)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 24 (27 Jun: Wed)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 25 (02 Jul: Mon)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 26 (04 Jul: Wed)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 27 (09 Jul: Mon)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 28 (11 Jul: Wed)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 29 - Penultimate class (16 Jul: Mon)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

Class 30 - Last Class (18 Jul: Wed)

What to prepare for this class:

What we will do in class:

HW for the future!

Follow your holiday homework plan.